Stuck! Breakdowns at Walt Disney World

I recently had a discussion with a few people about getting stuck on rides, and I thought I’d ask all of you, my readers, if you’ve gotten stuck, what you’ve gotten stuck on, and what the experience was like. Walt Disney World has nearly 100 attractions (not all of which can break down), and from time to time they go down with guests on them.

IMG_0784

I’ve been to Disneyland, Walt Disney World and Disneyland Paris over a dozen times, (quite a feat since I’ve traveled there from New York and South Dakota!), and I’ve been on a number of rides that have gone down for a short period while on them. One of the most recent was on the TTA PeopleMover, where we got stuck inside a tunnel for about 20 minutes. While some people would be upset, maybe freak out, or be generally annoyed, my wife and I, as well as an aunt and uncle, thought it was actually kind of neat. We had no idea why we’d stopped, but after a couple of minutes they turned all of the lights on, and two cast members came running along the track, flashlights shining, looking for something.

newmanagement_disney
(photo is Disney copyrighted, found here)

While it didn’t break down while we were on it, my wife and I visited The Enchanted Tiki Room, Under New Management on the afternoon of January 12th, 2011.  Why do I remember the date?  Because there was a small roof fire that evening, and it was shut down for a period of time.  When it reopened, it had been brought back to its original version.  That means, whether you loved it or hated it, that we were among the very last to see Iago and Zazu running the place. *We take no responsibility for the fire*

For more New Management info, check out http://disney.wikia.com/wiki/The_Enchanted_Tiki_Room_(Under_New_Management)

 

Are there rides that you feel go down more often then others? Have you ever had a memorable experience on one? Please share your thoughts in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Stuck! Breakdowns at Walt Disney World

  1. We were stuck on Journey of The Little Mermaid for 50 minutes. We jumped on just after 8pm, thinking we had plenty of time before Wishes at 9pm. We walked out just as Wishes started.

    We were stuck in the “Under the Sea” section. The animatronics weren’t moving but the music continued on a loop. Every few minutes Sebastian would come on and say “What is this? You’ve come to a stop! Maybe it’s that Sea Witch. Please remain seated while I get to the bottom of this!” Then another announcement would come on saying we were going to move. We would move a metre and then stop again. This kept going and going until finally the ride worked. For a long time, just hearing Under the Sea would really get on my nerves.

  2. I’ve never actually gotten stuck on a ride but I think it would be a neat story after it was said and done although I would be annoyed if it was for a really extended period of time

  3. I got stuck on Splash Mtn one time for 10 mins. The cast members were running around the edges of the ride, but I never did find out what went wrong. I think Test Track is always breaking down….

Leave a Reply

