Unexpected Friends

Today, I want to share just a little bit about what makes Disney so special to me.  If you’ve read my “about me”, you’ll see that I live in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.  I’m quite a ways from any parks… 1,321 miles from the Disneyland Castle, 1,338 from Walt Disney World.  (amazing, actually, that both distances are within 20 miles distance)  As far as I know, there are no Mouse Meets, Disney blog conventions, or anything of that sort in my state, or too close to me.  That being said, I made a friend because of Mickey Mouse yesterday.

At the elementary school I work at, I bring a Walt Disney World Resort mug with me, and fill it with water throughout the day.  Yesterday, as I was leaving, I stopped at the school office to ask the secretary a question.  And what did I see on her desk, half full of coffee?  A mug!!!  I smiled at her, and asked “2006, 2007”, pointing at her mug.  She had a huge grin on her face, and said yeah, and then pointed at mine and guessed the year as well.  

It turns out, she not only loves Disney, she was a Cast Member back in the day (she wouldn’t tell me exactly when, but it couldn’t have been too long ago), and worked in the parking lot at the TTC, and then later at EPCOT.  She goes as often as she can with her family, and has been a few times to reunite with other CMs she worked with.

Before I left, she said to me ‘It’s so nice to meet someone else who I can chat with about Disney.  Most people will listen along for a few minutes, but after about five, everyone wants to change the conversation’.  (I didn’t even tell her about my Twitter account, Facebook page, blog, etc…)

Have you made any unexpected friends outside of a trip to Disneyland or Walt Disney World?  Let us know in a comment!

 

7 thoughts on “Unexpected Friends

  1. I belong to a group on Facebook & the DIS Boards called DISDads. They have a podcast & I’ve met a fellow dad on there that lives in my neighborhood! I’ve gotten to know a lot of dads with similar interests thanks to social media.

Leave a Reply

